Monday, 25 May 2015

May 2015 Love is in the air. Avocets!

A lot of Avocets at Slimbridge lost their first brood of chicks to a male Sparrow hawk.  They never give up though and look to be starting all over again!
Mating

Nice cuddle they seem to do!

Love strut!

Tuesday, 19 May 2015

May 2015 Who's a pretty boy! Handsome Male Linnet.

I just think these birds are so beautiful, especially the male in full breeding plumage!
Beautiful male Linnet


Sunday, 17 May 2015

May 2015 Bath time Meadow Pipit

Really lucky to be sat quietly when this Meadow Pipit came along within a few metres, completely unaware I was there.

Meadow Pipit enjoying a bath

Monday, 11 May 2015

May 2015 Avocet chicks have hatched!

The breeding season is well on its way.  Many of the Avocet chicks have now hatched.
Feeding themselves come naturally

Looking for a meal

Still likes protection

Sunday, 10 May 2015

Saturday, 9 May 2015

Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Monday, 4 May 2015

May 2015 Many Waders incubating eggs

Had a great day at Upton Warren nature reserve.  There were many waders incubating eggs.
Avocet

Lapwing

Sunday, 3 May 2015

May 2015 Common Crane. Here's hoping they breed successfully in Gloucestershire this year!

Common Crane. Here's hoping they breed successfully in Gloucestershire this year!
Common Crane fly past.  Awesome!

Saturday, 2 May 2015

May 2015 Light Breakfast Little Egret

Never tire of seeing Little Egrets even though they are now getting quite common in the UK.  I always remember seeing my first one at Coombe Hill Nature reserve and being late home waiting for it to come nearer the hide!
Little Egret with tasty morsel!

Just like the movement on this one!